Module 1-Introduction to Drivers Education

Video Lecture:

In Illinois,

most people under age 18 learn to drive in high school or at a commercial driver training school licensed by the Secretary of State’s office. Approved driver education classes include at least 30 hours of classroom study and six hours of behind-the-wheel training in a regular passenger vehicle.

The Illinois Manufacturer Purchase Credit Gets a New Look - Sikich LLP

Learning to drive can be a very exciting time for a teenager.In the United States, teenagers drive less than all but the oldest people, but their numbers of crashes and crash deaths are disproportionately high. 1 In the United States, the fatal crash rate per mile driven for 16-19 year-olds is nearly 3 times the rate for drivers ages 20 and over. Risk is highest at ages 16-17. Beginning in the mid-1990s, all states adopted graduated licensing systems, which phase in full driving privileges. National studies of graduated licensing found that strong laws were associated with substantially lower fatal crash rates and substantially lower insurance claim rates among young teen drivers covered by the laws. Strong restrictions on nighttime driving and teen passengers, as well as raising the licensing age, reduced rates of fatal crashes and insurance collision claims. The above facts are based on analysis of data from the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS).

Lesson Content
×
×

Cart